2012 Program

Day 1 – March 27th, 2012 – University of Illinois, Champaign-Urbana
08:15 – 09:00 Breakfast and Registration
09:00 – 09:15 Opening Remarks : Alan Wood, Rakesh Kumar
09:15 – 10:15 Session I: Keynote Speech (Session Chair : Rakesh Kumar)
Designing Safe and Available Integrated Circuits According to Functional Safety Standards.
Dr. Riccardo Mariani (Yogitech).
10:15 – 10:30 Break
10:30 – 12:00 Session II: Fault Analysis (Session Chair: Eishi Ibe)
Statistical Fault Injection-Based Analysis of a GPU Architecture.
Navid Farazmand, Rafael Ubal and David Kaeli.
Evaluation of Device-Level Irradiation Effects in a 32-bit Safety Micro Controller for Automotive Braking Applications.
Daniel Baumeister, Steve Anderson and Timothy Wooten.
Case Study of SEU Effects in a Network Processor.
Adrian Evans, Shi-Jie Wen and Michael Nicolaidis.
12:00 – 13:00 Launch
13:00 – 15:00 Session III: Technology (Session Chair: Anand Dixit)
Soft Error Susceptibilites of 22nm Tri-Gate Devices.
Norbert Seifert, Balkaran Gill, Shah Jahinuzzaman, Joseph Basile, Vinod Ambrose, Randy Allmon, Quan Shi and Arkady Bramnik.
A Tale of Two Test Chips : 28nm Configuration RAM and Dual-Port RAM.
Austin Lesea.
Impact of RTN on Vmin Elevation of 6-T Bitcell Designs.
Sudha Thiruvengadam, Sengoon Toh, Huong An, Stephen Kosonocky, Keith Kasprak and Jason Mulig.
Fault-Based Reliable Design-On-Upper-Bound of Electronic Systems for Muons, Electrons and Low Energy Neutrons.
Eishi Ibe, Tadanobu Toba, Ken-Ichi Shimbo and Hitoshi Taniguchi.
15:00 – 15:45 Break: Switch Rooms
15:45 – 16:45 Session IV: Panel Discussion
Topic: Reliability Requirements of Large Scale Data Centers.
Dr. Sarita Adve (UIUC),
Dr. Al Geist (Oak Ridge National Laboratory),
Dr. Ravi Iyer (UIUC),
Dr. Thomas Wenisch (University of Michigan).

16:45 – 17:00 Break
17:00 – 18:00 Session V: Keynote Speech (Session Chair: Adrian Evans)
Single Event Effects in Avionics, Implications for SEE on the Ground.
Dr. Eugene Normand (formerly of Boeing Company).
18:00 Reception

Day 2 – March 28th, 2012 – University of Illinois, Champaign-Urbana
08:00 – 08:30 Breakfast
08:30 – 10:00 Session VI: Keynote Speech (Session Chair: Vilas Sridharan)
Exascale Monster in the Closet.
Dr. Al Geist (Oak Ridge National Laboratory).
09:30 – 09:45 Break
09:45 – 10:45 Session VII: Tools and Mitigation Techniques (Session Chair: Dean Liberty)
Automated di/dt Stressmark Generation for Microprocessor Power Distribution Networks.
Youngtaek Kim and Lizy John.
REA : Redundant Encoding of Attributes in ECC.
Yiannakis Sazeides, Danny Kershaw and Emre Ozer.
10:45 – 11:00 Break
11:00 – 12:00 Session VIII: Large Scale Case Studies (Session Chair: Austin Lesea)
A Field Study of DRAM Errors.
Vilas Sridharan and Dean Liberty.
12:00 – 12:45 Launch
12:45 – 14:00 Session IX: Poster Session (Session Chair: Alan Wood)
Characterizing Single Event Transient Pulse Widths in an Open-Source Cell Library Using SPICE.
Daniel Limbrick and William Robinson.
A Quantitative Analysis of Soft Error Propagation in Sequential Circuits.
Taiga Takata and Yusuke Matsunaga.
Software Mitigation of Transient Errors on the Single-Chip Cloud Computer.
Dimitrios Rodopoulos, Antonis Papanikolaou, Francky Catthoor and Dimitrios Soudris.
Cross-layer Reliability Exploration Proposal For Body Area Networks.
Georgia Psychou, Jochen Schleifer, Jos Huisken, Francky Catthoor and Tobias Noll.
A New Model to Predict the Failure Rate of Registers.
Antonino Armato, Stefano Lorenzini and Riccardo Mariani.
Algorithmic Approaches for Fault Correction.
Joseph Sloan, Rakesh Kumar and Greg Bronevetsky.
System-level Support for Invariants.
Biplab Deka, Rakesh Kumar and Karthik Pattabhiraman.
14:00 – 14:15 Break
14:15 – 15:45 Session X: Software Based Mitigation (Session Chair: David Doudna)
DIEBA: Diagnosing Intermittent Errors by Backtracing Application Failures.
Layali Rashid, Karthik Pattabiraman and Sathish Gopalakrishnan.
Blockwatch: Leveraging Similarity in Parallel Programs for Error Detection.
Jiesheng Wei and Karthik Pattabiraman.
Reducing the Cost of Protection Against Soft Errors using Profile Based Analysis.
Daya Shanker Khudia, Griffin Wright and Scott Mahlke.
15:45 – 16:00 Closing Remarks: Alan Wood, Rakesh Kumar