2008 Program

March 26, 2008
University of Texas – Austin
Thompson Conference Center
8:00-8:45 Continental Breakfast and Registration in Lobby
8:45-9:00 Welcome and Introductions from General Co-chair and Committee,
Wendy Bartlett (HP), Babak Falsafi (CMU)
Welcome from local sponsor and Steering Committee
9:00-10:30 Microprocessors
Chair: Doug Berger, University of Texas
• SWAT: An Error Resilient System . Manlap Li, Pradeep Ramachandran, Swarup
Sahoo, Sarita Adve, Vikram Adve and YuanYuan Zhou
• Reducing Overhead for Soft Error Coverage in High Availability Systems. Nidhi
Aggarwal, Norman Jouppi, Parthasarthy Ranganathan, James E. Smith and Kewal
• Soft-Error Protection Mechanisms for In-Order Cores. Pedro Chaparro Monferrer,
Xavier Vera, Javier Carretero Casado and Jaume Abella
10:30-11:00 Break
11:00-12:00 Microprocessors
Chair: Mike Bruce, AMD
• OpenSPARC: An Open Platform for Hardware Reliability Experimentation.
Ishwar Parulkar, Alan Wood, James Hoe, Sarita Adve and Josep Torrellas.
• Examining Workload Dependence of Soft Error Rates. Sonny Rao, Ted Hong, Pia
Sanda, Jerry Ackaret, Adrian Barrera, Jorge Yanez, Subhasish Mitra, Jeffrey
Kellington and Ryan McBeth.
12:00-12:45 Lunch
12:45-2:00 Dessert and Poster Presentations i
Chair: Jeff Kellington, IBM
• IC Component SEU Impact Analysis. Shijie Wen, Allan Silburt and Richard
• A Design Methodology to Prevent Transient Faults in System on Chip
Architectures. Muhammad Sheikh Sadi
• Comprehensive Tool For SEU Data Analysis. Milap Shah, Shijie Wen and
Richard Wong
• A Very Low Overhead Method to Filter Single Event Transients in
Combinational Logic. Aahlad Mallajosyula and Payman Zarkesh-Ha
• Alpha accelerated testing for Digital ICs, pitfalls and improvements. Damien
Leroy, Remi Gaillard, Erwin Schaefer, Cyrille Beltrando, Shi-Jie Wen and Rick
• Conjoined Processor: A Fault Tolerant High Performance Microprocessor.
Viswanathan Subramanian, Naga Durgaprasad Avirneni and Arun Somani
• Reliability Improvements Enabled by Self-Imposed Temporal Redundancy. Elias
2:00-3:00 Panel – Do workloads matter?
Moderator: George Krejci, HP
Ravi Iyer, University of Illinois
Ron Kalla, IBM
Shubu Mukherjee, Intel
3:00-3:30 Break
3:30-4:30 Failure Mechanisms
Chair: Terry Garyet, Freescale
• Delay Shifts Predict Gate-Oxide Early Life Failures. Tze Wee Chen, Young
Moon Kim and Subhasish Mitra
• Modeling of NBTI-Induced PMOS Degradation under Arbitrary Dynamic
Temperature Variation. Bin Zhang and Michael Orshansky
4:30-5:00 Living with Failures
Chair: Ishwar Parulkar, Sun
• Error tolerance: Why and how to use slightly defective digital systems. Melvin
Breuer, Keith Chugg, Sandeep Gupta and Antonio Ortega
5:00-6:00 Invited talk – Brad McCredie, IBM
Moderator: Pia Sandia, IBM
6:00 Reception and Dinner at the University of Texas Club
March 27, 2008
7:45-8:30 Continental Breakfast in the Lobby
8:30-10:00 Design for Reliability
Chair: Michael Mueller, IBM
• End-to-End Test-Enabled Low-Power Adaptation for Wireless OFDM Systems.
Rajarajan Senguttuvan, Muhammad M. Nisar, Shreyas sen, vishwanath natarajan
and Abhijit Chatterjee
• A Perspective on Developing IP for Embedded Reliability. Daryl Bradley
• CASP: Concurrent Autonomous Chip Self-Test Using Stored Test Patterns.
Yanjing Li, Samy Makar and Subhasish Mitra
10:00-10:30 Break
10:30-12:00 Derating
Chair: Arijit Biswas, Intel
• Characterizing Instruction-level Error Derating. Jeffrey Cook and Craig Zilles
• Design For Reliability: An Analysis of Logical Masking on Transient Faults.
Derek Graham
• Scalable Calculation of Logical Masking Effects for Selective Hardening Against
Soft Errors. Ilia Polian, Sudhakar Reddy and Bernd Becker
12:00-1:00 Lunch
1:00-2:00 Invited Talks – Customer view of soft error rate requirements
Moderator: Dennis Abts, Google
Sara Michalek, LANL
Shi-Jie Wen, Cisco
2:00-2:30 Break
2:30-4:00 Audience Discussion– How low is low enough?
Moderator: Alan Wood
4:00-5:00 Closing Remarks
Moderator: Wendy Bartlett, HP